# SOUTHEND-ON-SEA CITY COUNCIL

## **Meeting of The Council**

## Date: Thursday, 20th July, 2023 Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present:Councillor S Habermel (Chair)<br/>Councillors S Aylen, B Beggs, M Berry, M Borton, S Buckley,<br/>L Burton, C Campbell, O Cartey, P Collins, J Courtenay, D Cowan,<br/>T Cowdrey, T Cox, M Davidson, A Dear, M Dent, F Evans, N Folkard,<br/>D Garston, S George, I Gilbert, J Harland, L Hyde, A Jones, J Lamb,<br/>A Line, R McMullan, J Moyies, D Nelson, C Nevin, M O'Connor,<br/>D Richardson, K Robinson, M Sadza, M Stafford, M Terry,<br/>S Wakefield, C Walker, J Warren, P Wexham and R Woodley

**Start/End Time:** 6.30 - 7.07 pm

## 42 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Boyd, Murphy, Leroy, Jarvis, Nelson, Buck, D Jones, Mulroney and Ward.

### 43 Declarations of Interest

All Councillors – Minute 44 (Honorary Alderman Award) - in so far as they may know or have served on the Council with the recipient for Honorary Alderman.

### 44 Honorary Alderman Award

Councillor Cox proposed (seconded by Councillor Cowan) that Mr Andrew Moring be admitted as Honorary Alderman.

It was unanimously resolved:

That, pursuant to Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Mr Andrew Moring in recognition of his eminent services to the Council.

### 45 Freedom of the City Award

Councillor Cox proposed (seconded by Councillor Cowan) that Mr David Stanley MEB be admitted as Honorary Freeman of the City of Southend-on-Sea.

It was unanimously resolved:

That Mr David Stanley MEB, be admitted as the Honorary Freeman of the City of Southend-on-Sea, pursuant to S.249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, being a person of distinction who has rendered eminent services to Southend-on-Sea.

Chair: